The last frost hasn’t occurred until the Pecan trees bud:

First things first, but feel free to jump immediately to the last paragraph if you wish to get the point of this piece; I tend to go around Cock-Robins barn to get where I intend to go. My local grocery store does three bring ‘em in to shop gimmicks on Wednesday. The first is the usual weekly ad section available in the store. The second is what they call “Senior Wednesday,” in which anyone over 65 gets a 5 percent discount on food items minus some store-imposed restrictions of some types of products. The third, one free doughnut within in the 59 cent range of doughnuts offerings. The store has a nice Deli area that includes some of finest representations of a true southern diet, and an adjoining section with four booths serving store associates and customers who wish to eat-in. Another free senior treat available anytime the store is open is a small cup of coffee.

The decision to venture out in 30-degree weather a little after 8am Wednesday had nothing to do with any of the above. I simply needed 1 item to complete my ingredient list in a Crumpet recipe, and to replace some bananas that should have been in my pantry the day before for a banana cream pie I then intended to make. I grabbed one copy of the weekly ad offering, headed for the Deli, passed on the free doughnut selection and instead purchased a glazed twist, poured a half a cup of coffee, took three packets of non-creamer to help thin out the murky dark product in my small Styrofoam cup and headed for one of the booths. Three regulars were already there, and I took fourth booth. A woman who belongs to my church was making a grocery list as she went through the weekly ads. The two men seated in the other two booths were engaged in a familiar routine in that area. One person has a newspaper, one or more people are there and willing to participate in the routine. The person with the Newspaper reads a bit, looks up and usually starts out with “I see where …” or some similar conversation starter. This wonderful event leads to homespun takes on other people, current events, sparks a few arguments, laughs, and animated movements of the face and hands, or actual shifting of the entire body. I occasionally participate in a few of these events myself, but find I learn more by keeping my mouth shut. By the time I sat down all I got of the current conversation was the statement “I wish I could get married again so I would have someone to argue with.” He continued on “we used to have some wonderful arguments almost every morning.” That was the extent of the newspaper routine as he uttered a small sigh and went to reading without further comment.

My friend in the booth opposite me soon started a conversation of cold weather and suitable plants to place in the soon to arrive Earth Boxes I purchased. This is what I learned from a woman who was born and raised in this town adorned with Pecan trees; “The last frost is not over until the Pecan tree starts to put out buds. Anything else around here may start to bud and then have to start over again because of a late frost, but never the Pecan trees." Another piece of southern wisdom bordering on Folklore, “and you don’t plant Caladiums until after Irish Day.” I figured calling St. Patrick’s Day – Irish Day was a dyed in the wool Southern Baptists way of acknowledging St. Patrick’s Day.

This entry was posted in Only in Louisiana?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment